The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Belted Galloway, in calf

GG and I went to North Woodchester today, to walk around the old Boundary Court estate (National Trust) in a hidden valley. I've done a bit of dog and house-sitting in the area, which has some stunning walks, so I remembered them. We had no adorable Bichon Frise with us this time, but GG admired a collie and a deerhound. Her beloved border collie died two years ago.

In one of the fields we same across belted Galloway cattle, which have a teddybear-like quality. This one appeared to be pregnant and wasn't for moo-ving at all. We reached the head of the valley, where there is a dilapidated barn, and began the circular walk back.

When we reached the car, we drove to the former church of St Mary, which houses the graveyard, under which there lies the Roman mosaic of Orpheus in the underworld. It was uncovered for public viewing in 1973, but 150,000 visitors arrived, and there was no infrastructure to support them. It has never been uncovered since. Two brothers built a replica, piece by piece, and it was housed in various places, ending up at Prinknash Abbey, where it was housed as a tourist attraction.I worked there for a while, and had to wake it up and put it to bed at the end of the day. Eventually the owner, a local lottery winner, died in an boating accident in Turkey, and the replica was sold off. Sadly, I have no idea where it is now, but I know where the original is! The church site was obviously once part of a Roman villa.

After our picnic ( home-made tapenade from me, smoked trout from GG) in the churchyard, we went back to GG's because she wanted me to help order her something on the internet. I found her laptop almost impossible to use, and eventually she brought me home, after having given me a cup of Fortnum and Mason's tea!

I bought the pond sealant in seconds once I got back. Ate one of the biscuits I made yesterday. They tasted better today. Am now wondering if I need some Fortnum's tea for myself. What is wrong with me? GG says I can use her garden/house for a writing workshop some time. That will be lovely, assuming anyone can ever find her house. It's beautiful, but the location ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.