Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Seabegs

Monday started bright and sunny. Among those taking advantage of the good weather was the local window-cleaner and his assistant and so, as I was pottering about the house and preparing breakfast, others were busy cleaning the front and back windows, When I went to the door, he said, "just leave the money on the doorstep and close the door. I'll pick it up from there." Strange times!

Apparently they had been given permission to continue working as it was felt they could be community 'eyes and ears' given the number of people, some of whom might be vulnerable or house-bound, with whom they came into contact in their homes during their rounds.

So, since I was up and dressed before nine (not always the case for this retired person!) I took advantage of the fine weather to take my daily bout of exercise. Also, given the time of day, I knew that the sun would be in a good position for me to take photos of the Antonine Wall at Seabegs Wood.

So my trip down the farm track ended with me turning left at the Canal. A few hundred metres along and I dropped down the path and under the culvert (called Doctor's Pend) below the Canal and into Seabegs Wood.

From there I had a wonderfully quiet walk along the Roman Military Way (see extras) with only birdsong for company, before doubling back along the Antonine Wall (main photo) to my start-point at the Canal. Unlike at the weekend, I hardly saw a soul. A few walkers and cyclists along the Canal and the farm track, but it was wonderfully quiet, peaceful and relaxing.

The waters in the flooded field had receded even further and may be gone in a few more days time. The Canada Geese were long gone - looks like they stayed only for a day or two - but there were still a few gulls and oystercatchers to be seen. However, for the first time in this current spell, I saw some lapwings (peewits) both in the air and on the water.

A church meeting by Zoom in the afternoon, a Skype call with friends in the evening and a chance to reflect on a rather pleasant day given the present circumstances.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.