Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lockdown Day 8 - Sunrise over our Estate

Whereas I would normally drive out to a location if I was intending to capture a sunrise, now it is a question of walking out.  It's more of a challenge; you have to  try and work out if it is going to be worthwhile a good half an hour before sunrise.

Today, I tried something different.  It takes about 5 minutes to walk out of the estate to the north, along a permissive path towards the local nature reserve.  I took the drone and set it up to take a panoramic shot from about 80 metres above ground level. I was quite pleased with the result.  It's a bit noisy as it had to cope with a wide range of exposures between the sky frames and the ground.  It takes 18 images in three rows of six.  I've cropped it slightly as this results in a 180 degree sweep and the perspective is a little wierd if you include the whole of the capture.

I think this also demonstrates how flat the land is around here.  I took a walk later in the day and most of the route can be seen in this image, across the open fields beyond the estate.  I have an impression that the social distancing is working well in our area, with very few signs of people ignoring the advice.  Hopefully it will have the desired effect.

Day Miles: 7.1 miles       Total Miles: 410.9 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.