Strange Times

Another day, another lockdown but really what day is it? It could be any day of the week, it’s so hard to differentiate nowadays.

The only time it’s quiet enough to go for a walk in the Meadows is early in the day before the populace gets up and out. All the youth who are lost without their gyms are up running, jogging and exercising in large numbers in the middle of the morning and keeping the 2 metre distance is really quite difficult.

My early trot at 7am to the shop on my doorstep to get the basics for the day did not produce any can of chick peas. Who would have thought that chickpeas were so popular. Much later I found some in a corner shop on my hour’s circular walk but paid more dearly for them than was probably sensible.

I also passed 3 friends on my walk and it was wonderful to be able to catch up with their news albeit shouting across the 2 metre divide. Another friend brought me a cutting this afternoon of Oxalis triangularis, leaving the pot on the patio table rather than getting close enough to hand it to me in person. Strange times indeed.

Nothing stranger though than this little snowman peeping out at me from behind his garden fence as I passed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.