Lockdown Day 5 - New Ways Of Shopping

Years ago I tried out my grocery shopping by using the self-scanner and found it way too clumsy. I decided in light of current events to try it once again. I have to say that the system seems easier than it was years ago! And easy to use while wearing protective gloves. I also dusted off my ‘granny-trolley’ which of course came out during my shed clean out yesterday. It’s very faded but in good shape otherwise.

It was very easy to scan and pack as I went through the store, and no need to use the Waitrose trolleys, as our store is only allowing 35 trolleys to be used in the store at any one time. Even with 35 trolley shoppers and a few of us non-trolley shoppers, the store was strangely quiet for a Saturday. Even the checkouts - I believe they’re only opening every other one to keep people more ‘distant’ - were not busy and some were waiting for customers. Of course I used the self-scan checkout. I did need someone to tell me how to use it as it was my first time, but it was far from rocket science.

It’s been suggested that we use this time at home to learn a new skill - so this is my new skill for the day! Not quite on the same level as learning a new language or app development, but still!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.