Lockdown Day 6 - British Summer Time

The clocks changed for us last night here in the UK. I admit I was stupidly having a very late night and I actually saw it ‘spring forward’. So now there is more daylight towards the end of the day and it’s darker in the morning. I’m not sure which I prefer. I’ve been getting up very early in the morning so I don’t like really like the darkness of the early morning once again. It won’t last long.

The warm spring weather gave way to cold and wind today. It had died down by evening and I took advantage of the lighter evening and went for a walk to the closer lake, not my usual one. It’s usually too muddy for walking and indeed I didn’t make it all the way round but I did enjoy a slightly different view. It’s easier in the summer - usually not as muddy.

I walked past this pub on my way back and laughed when I saw the dog-friendly sign. When I first moved here I innocently went in for a drink after walking Dolly around the lake. I didn’t realise that this was a rare pub that didn’t allow dogs, because the new landlady had cats. We pretty much got ‘kicked out’. Not by the landlady but by other customers. “You can’t bring THAT in HERE!!” Thankfully we were allowed to sit in the garden and someone came to take our order. Then another customer came out and apologised for their behaviour, explaining that they were just upset that they were no longer allowed to bring their dogs to the pub.

So now that landlady is gone and dogs are once again welcome. Sadly, Dolly is no longer with me. And of course the pubs are all closed. Hopefully not for long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.