Lockdown Day 7 - Eggs!

I didn’t leave the house today - not even for ‘essential’ shopping or exercise. Thankfully I LOVE being at home and I feel as safe as I can humanly be.

I kept busy with all sorts of things. I have lots of projects and neglected chores. It will be months before I am in danger of getting bored! I haven’t found much time for box sets or novels, though I’m eager for some entertainment.

I DID spend time with my normal Monday morning small group from church. It’s great to have the technology of Zoom to be able to meet, to catch up with news, support and pray for each other. We met last week for the first time on Zoom and this week it felt as normal as anything. All these new technological options are great during this time of necessary physical distance, but I’m sure we’ll all be thrilled to be able to meet with friends and family once again.

So - why the eggs? I guess it’s an ‘emergency blip’. These are eggs from our local egg farm from a few days ago. These are ‘seconds’ - nothing wrong with the eggs at all, but they may be misshapen, different sizes or have odd markings. Besides being less expensive I find their variety beautiful. They always live in this bowl which I think is appropriate because it looks like coloured Easter eggs along the side. And it looks good in my kitchen where I have lots of red accents.

Bonus quiz question:
Does anyone know or would like to guess why American supermarkets display eggs in a chilled cabinet and why the UK does not? Don’t cheat! No Googling!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.