Bookends

I bookended my day with trips out. I took an early trip to the supermarket, leaving home just after 7.30am, to pick up a few bits. It was entirely safe to stand in the middle of Leith Walk and take a picture. I'll tag it #leithwalkshops for the record.

Good(ish) progress during the day, determining the substance of EU citizenship... (first time to write about it since not being one... boo hiss, at least my partner is. Remember Brexit ;-) ).

After dinner (Cornish pasties) I went out for my 'exercise', and cycled up Leith Walk, up North Bridge and right up the Royal Mile to the Castle Esplanade (see extra). Great light. And then back down Ramsay Terrace, the Mound, George Street and home. Not many people around. A few buses. A tram! Queues outside a couple of supermarkets, especially the Sainsbury's, on the way up. But not on the way back. But one thing I ascertained: Lothian and Borders Busies are not wearing out their shoe leather parading the streets of Edinburgh, but they are wearing out their tyre rubber. I didn't see that many vehicles (well, quite a few - the Walk was reasonably busy), but I saw about 5 or 6 police cars (or possible the same one trailing around and perhaps following me...). There is an eerie atmosphere out there, and it is quite different to take exercise on the streets, which are not normal, compared to the paths of North Edinburgh, which are quiet in the mornings, but feel more or less 'normal'.

I was back in time to #clapforcarers on the balcony. Thinner noise than last week, but nice to say hello to a few neighbours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.