twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

A day when it became clear management don't  have a clue.  

After a v early start to get essential supplies and a sunny blip(I've used the backdrop before with - shock horror -a cat blip!) I pitched up to work, (sofa today)

Due to preplanned work on the first day of the fiscal year, we had no live system, but a read only affair instead. I already knew this but we were to have been offered the day off in exchange for 5 hours the previous weekend. Except the communication channels didnt feed that down.  Well they did but only to those on the shop floor. Those immediately above missed the mutterings. It mattered not to me as I had the voodoo accuser to deal with and the numbering conundrums of Sleigh Drive and Broughton Road to submit. But there was a flurry of activity as all the early birds contacted the gaffer and having got up early  most of them went back to bed. Great planning.

But it got better.

Again there was word that the essential work would spill over into Thursday  and the deal was being offered that a 10 -5 with a lunch hour was sufficient for those prepared to start later.

I sent an innocent e mail asking if this applied to us and swiftly received a curtish 'I've heard nothing, business as usual ' response.

So I did all I could and finished just after 2. 

Obv at 1620 after everyone had finished for the day the 'the big man was right, anyone,  anyone wanting to do 10-5 can do so' e mail arrived. 

Anyway the rest of the day was spent making leek and potato soup and smoked mackerel pate, and writing Cigs the 2nd draft. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.