Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Small and delicate

After listening to all the advice, I decided to use common sense about walking today. My car needed to have the engine turned over and I worked out a short walk which was partly on a quiet road and partly on a railway embankment. I knew there were no sheep and no gates to negotiate. I drove for 7 minutes to get there.

It was a cold, grey morning, but I enjoyed the outing. I photographed a few wildflowers. The lesser celandine are tricky to photograph in the sun. They sparkle but the highlights on the petals blow.

Here I found the first flower on a tiny alpine strawberry by a wall near Chipchase Castle. I like the lichens on the wall behind. I saw banks of primroses and the wild daffodils are still in flower. Pussy willow is dripping with pollen. I have rarely enjoyed Spring as much as this year. It feels very precious.

This afternoon, I played our piano. I haven't played for months and felt very rusty, but a lot of tunes fall under the fingers fairly well.

Our vicar has lost his battle with a brain tumour. It was well advanced by the time of diagnosis. I'm glad that his wife was with him, but his family could not be. There will be a memorial service later in the year.

We missed the first part of the news briefing tonight. I think that a regular slot would be good.

Last Saturday, I showed you an image I made for our photo group's weekly challenge. Today we had to process an image from our back catalogue. I chose a seascale from the Isle of Harris in November. I'd not touched it because it had a big fleck of dirt on the sensor and didn't look very promising. I was delighted with the finished result. It was fun to see everyone else's images too.

Now wondering what the next challenge will be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.