A family allotment day

The weather was perfect for a day, or part day at the allotment. Jon and I had planned to go after breakfast, but we were in no rush. We had to load up the trailer with the rotavator and other tools, plus an old gate and post we used to have in the garden.

We hadn't been there long, when Mollie and Henry arrived, shortly followed by Daniel, who proceeded to work wonders, digging, raking, and mowing. Jon did some rotovating but also fixed new posts to put the gate on. Now we need to attach the chicken wire fence that was already there. I worked on the bed that Mollie and Henry dug for me Thursday. Raked it and tried my best to smash up the rock hard lumps of baked clay soil. Then measured out and planted the broad beans, and put up the sticks for my runner beans. There is space for french beans in the same bed. We now have a bed ready for my chitted potatoes. I put one row in, but still waiting for my main crop to sprout. Mollie planted a row of carrots, and in all we felt we achieved a lot. Having everyone to help makes so much difference!!

After lunch we sat in the garden. Nice, warm and sheltered. At 4 we went for a long walk up the other end of the village and circled round past a bit of land that is for sale. 7 acres of arable land. Anyone got a spare £55,000!! Lol.

Mollie cooked fajitas for tea, and cheesy nachos. Now some of our jigsaw. Mollie is whizzing through it. Feeling quite tired. My Fitbit says I've done over 14000 steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.