Week 2 - Day 5

Feeling refreshed after a day off, I had a frustrating first hour trying to get logged in to our pension systems. Mid morning my new monitor arrived and when I was having my lunch, Henry set it up for me. It transformed my working world, and the afternoon was a million times better!! Joking apart, it isn’t easy for any of us working from home. It is slower, much slower but there is still as much post and a whole lot more emails. I still can’t believe how unreasonable some people are, demanding replies. One emailed on the 31st - that was Tuesday, and again today they emailed asking why they hadn’t had a reply. We are an office of 40 people, now scattered across the county trying to do our jobs, with almost no time to plan for such a big change to our way of working. So please make some allowances for the current situation everyone is experiencing at the moment. I’m sure everyone, like us in Pensions, is trying to do their best.

I finished at 4.25pm quite grateful for the weekend. Mollie and I went for a fast walk around the village. Just under 3k. I couldn’t face running. It was far more enjoyable, and we were able to chat as we went. The others are still running most days, but I’ll decide whether just fast walking is as good for me as running is. It is edging ahead at the moment, I have to confess!

Pizza for tea, and tv. Tomorrow a lie in, and then plans to go to the allotment with everyone I can persuade to join me.

Photo was on our walk this evening. Beautiful crisp lines in the freshly prepared fields near our allotment. Like my friends in Linton, who are all posting beautiful photos of the countryside around them, we too are immersed in a perfect rural idyll. I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather be in lockdown. Of course I still miss people, but we are safe and healthy and grateful to have each other. So far, all 5 of us are still friends, and enjoying each other’s company! Lucky us. Roll on week 3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.