Week 2 - Day 4...day off!!

Yaay, I've waited so long for this day. For part time working. After 5 years of being full time and 6 months since I put in my request to reduce my days to 4, it has eventually arrived. Ironically I needed to reduce my travelling, and as they refused to let me work from home one day a week, to give me a breather with the journey, I had to request the part time work. For it to now fall mid whole sale home working, means I'm getting a massive break from the travelling, plus a day off.

I've made the most of my day. Cleaned the bathroom, and sorted the airing cupboard. Then to the allotment for a few hours with Mollie and Henry. Henry took tools ( saw and drill) and built a fixed edge to a new bed that I want to plant my courgettes in. Mollie and I dug over the bed where the beans will go, and made a fence with sticks and reclaimed netting to go round its circumference. We were pleased with the result. It's a bit rough, but will definitely do a job to deter rabbits. Now about 6 or 8 more beds to rotavate and prepare for all my other seeds. We will start that on saturday. Sunday is due to be hot, so we will go saturday and then spend sunday doing the garden. I have lots more seeds coming up that I need to nurture to make them strong before it's time to put them out. Lots to do, and really grateful for the extra time at home for it.

Had a facetime chat with mum and dad today. I'm really grateful to Manda who is doing shopping for mum. I know they are too. I'm pretty redundant from a distance, but am keeping the gardens up in Norfolk looking nice so that when they are next able to visit it doesn't look like a jungle.

Have dabbled in a bit of family history research this evening to pass an hour. Have managed to get back to Jon's ggggggg grandfather (7 x great grandfather) Matthew Meadows born 1700 in Foxton, Leicestershire. His granddaughter Elisabeth Meadows married Jon's 5 x great grandfather Robert Gibbs born 1767. He is the furthest 'Gibbs' we have been able to find. I just love the searching...and the internet has made this so much easier!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.