Movie Night

It has been a day full of sorting. Starting with the grass, which looked really nice after I had given it a short cut. Then I dug out some raspberry canes to take home with me. Hopefully I have got some of the autumn fruiting ones which are so prolific in mums garden.

Then I started to clean and tidy, and try to sort one of dad's shed. Dad was the untidiest worker. He knew where everything was, so in his mind, if he was working on something, why put things away between each session....even if those sessions were years apart! I wanted to try and put similar things together and managed to fill 2 drawers with tools. Lots of micrometers which he used for his precision work. Many blank pieces of metal, which he made motorcycle parts from, and many pieces of paper, crumpled, damp and mouldy with detailed diagrams or prices for the parts he used to make and sell for motorbikes. Many, many rusty nuts and bolts, and lots of things fit only for the bin. I've separated things out for the rest of the family to go over and make decisions about. Hopefully, things will become clearer in due course.

It took all day to clear one section of the shed, and because it has a major leak, I want to do the rest tomorrow and see if the very wet and rusted tools can be saved. It needs a new roof on the shed, but that job usually falls to Jon. He has already replaced the roof on another of dad's sheds and it isn't a 5 minute job, but perhaps can be scheduled for the summer when restrictions are lifted.

This evening I have been watching the old cine films now that I have managed to get the projector running. There are many films, but I watched a small handful. I saw the 3 year old, 15 year old and 18 year old me among other things. Nice to see the odd glimpse of dad, when he left the camera in mums hands. That wasn't very often though. I think it will make a nice family evening when Manda and family are about. Something for post lockdown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.