Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lockdown Day 13 - That's a Bit Big

Decided to try more experimentation today, operating the camera remotely using the Snapbridge App.  I set the camera up  on a tripod, adjacent to the bird feeder, and then connected it to my phone so I could control it remotely.  I've done it before, but only out of curiosity, rather than with the aim of capturing a specific image.

I learnt a few things, including the lag between pressing the shutter release on the phone and the camera responding, as well as the lag while the image is downloaded to the device.  Probably not the ideal solution for capturing wildlife.  There were many misses, but the odd success.  

I've noticed that the birds in the tit family tend to retrieve a sunflower heart and then fly off to a nearby branch.  They then hold the heart between its claws and the branch and chip away at it with their small beaks.  In contrast the finches just chobble away at it in the feeder.  They just have bigger mouths!

I was using the 50mm standard lens and have decided to challenge myself to use it for a week in my photography.  I remember when I first got a serious camera that this was the only lens I had.  These days, with the modern zooms it is all too convenient to change focal length so I'll limit myself this week.  I imagine it will make me concentrate more on my subject and composition.

Day Miles: 2.1 miles Total Miles: 435.9 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.