Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lockdown Day 12 - Sunrise at Fishley Rover Bridge

I was out REALLY early to be in position to photograph the approach of sunrise this morning.  This bridge is about 2 miles from home and I wanted to get there well before sunrise to capture a time-lapse sequence.  

In the pre dawn, light levels are low, my initial exposure was about 10 seconds.  By the time the sun briefly showed itself the exposure was about a tenth of a second.  To capture a time-lapse over that period you can rely on auto exposure, but the advice for a time-lapse is to handle the exposure manually, requiring you to change the speed periodically as light levels increase.  It's supposed to reduce the possibility of flicker in the final video.

I used Lightroom and a program called LRTimelapse to compile the video from 246 separate photographs.  

It wasn't a stunner of a sunrise, but it still gave me chance to practice the technique and get a bit of learning in.  I get the impression there is a lot of learning to do!

You can see the result on You Tube

Day Miles: 11.5 miles Total Miles: 433.8 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.