The second half of life..

By twigs

Day 12 - Rabbit Island

Up at 6.30am to ensure I was ready and comfortable with coffee in hand for when Queenie addressed us.  Whether or not you agree with the establishment, there's no denying she is one amazing human being - 93 years old and still heading the Commonwealth in an incredibly aware, compassionate, articulate and positive manner.  She knows this is a war.  "We'll meet again" she said, a clear link to the Second World War and Dame Vera Lyn.

About mid-morning I donned my riding gear and headed off towards Rabbit Island via the local section of the Great Taste Trail.  I do hope I wasn't breaking the lockdown rules by going that far - I did go on my own though, and I did move well over every time I crossed paths with another cyclist/walker.........and there were plenty of them out!  I achieved my goal of getting to the Rabbit Island side of the Mapua ferry landing (though obviously it wasn't operating and won't be for a wee while yet.)  

Rabbit Island is usually a hive of activity, often brimming with people on sunny days.  Today I could count on one hand the number of vehicles I saw and on two hands, the number of people.  The beach was totally void of people..........the image today is just to highlight the temptation of a beautiful beach that is barred from us by an invisible barrier.  Life in lockdown on this side feels colourless and dull by comparison.....

Plenty of stops along the way - views, birds, fungi......I arrived home mid afternoon, sat down for a cuppa and realised I was absolutely shattered!  48kms all up but even on an ebike, I knew I'd worked.

Shower, nap, tea then a camera Club committee meeting using Zoom.  My first real use of the technology - it worked well.  A real saviour in times such as these.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.