Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Cock of the walk

..or possibly hen.  How do you tell the difference between male and female?  I'm not sure you can - until, as Elgar84 rightly pointed out below,.one lays an egg!

Anyhow I blipped this moorhen on my morning walk in the park.  S/he was down near the skatepark with the ducks.  I was astonished I got so close, they usually scream and skitter off to hide in the reed mace if you point a camera in their direction.

I don't know if this is the sharpest shot I've ever taken, but I thought the paintlike backdrop rather fun.  Plus out of the water moorhens are the nuttiest looking birds - red and yellow plastic beaks and ridiculously disproportionate legs and feet.

Apart from this little outing it's been more gardening, chatting to various neighbours from a safe distance and reading.  Very pleasant.

So how ill is BJ?  We all know is we're not being told the half of it.  The phrases have the usual painting-by-numbers feel of of - ahem - top PR.  I sincerely hope however, that all of you are well and happy.

Take care  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.