Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Looking up St Giles' Hill

Today's WidWed theme is Looking Up, so as I had to go buy food anyway, I thought I'd have a quick blip of my old stamping ground, St Giles' Hill, which rears up at the end of the Broadway.  We used to live just over the road behind me, and my kids spent half their life up here.  Oh the tears when I had to explain why people died, the shrieks of laughter chasing the dog (our sweet old lady, Callie), the solemn candlelit vigil when she died, the competitions to see who could climb the most steps - and the tobogganing! 

I don't know if I've really been successful in showing just how high and steep-sided it is, but to blip this I was lying in the bottom of what had once been a quarry supplying stone to build the late 19th century Didcot, Newbury and Southampton Railway.  It is certainly too steep for me to walk up but it's bloomin' wonderful to come down on a tin tray!

Very many thanks to Freyjad for hosting today.

Have a happy evening.  Keep safe.  Keep well.  And, of course, keep blipping  xx

WildFlowerWeek20_01 RESULTS
Goodness, what a fabulous collection of images you produced for this first weekAs always, I've found it really hard to pick for hearts and Hon Mentions as I'd have liked to give you all one.  But here we go (remembering, please, that this is only my opinion and you have every right to disagree)
HEARTS (later tonight) go - in no particular order - to:
DaisyConnor
majicmoments
AngelsShare
RavensRoost
steveng

and 6 Hon Mentions this week to:
Snaefell1883
Nettenet
Incredibish
Paola
PAR1
Kimb

and my thanks to all of you - I really enjoyed looking at each and every entry.  See you next week..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.