WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Bright

... is not a description of the day we've had. It was overcast and cool all day. But I still sat out on the terrace with Mystère because I can't bear to be cooped up in the house ... as long as it's not raining or windy, I'm out there. I did some Joe Wicks exercises and some brisk walking. Read my book. Spent too much time on social media.

Lunch: S cooked salmon (perfectly) with two sauces: an avocado sauce and a salsa of red pepper and red onion, served with new potatoes. I made tarta de aguacate, with lemon juice instead of lime. We run no risk of scurvy here.

In the early evening we had a Zoom apero with S and T, who spent 6 weeks in Almuñecar in January and February but are now back in France (next village to us). They reckon their life has not changed that much; they live rurally enough that they can go for socially distanced walks daily, picking wild asparagus and admiring the spring flowers, but they're also in the centre of their village so they can chat to people from the balcony. Like us they don't need to worry about income because we are all retired, and feel very fortunate because of that. Also we are all spending a lot less than we were!

Note: yesterday I had an email from Zoom saying they'd implemented a) password-protected meetings by default and b) waiting rooms so people can't barge into your meeting without being let in by you. Both of those were on by default when I updated my app today. For those following the various Zoom privacy scandals, here's a useful blog entry by John Naughton, technology and society guru extraordinaire, responsible for the Open University's first entirely online course (which nearly broke the university). I had a job on that course, so he's still a hero of mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.