Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Flaam

08.08.19
Flaam today. Wowzers!!
We’re in an inside cabin so obviously have no view. I ran upstairs at about 6.30am this morning hoping to watch us sailing down Aurlandsfjord where we were due to dock at 7am.
I was totally disorientated when I got to the top of the stairs to see sheer cliffs just feet from the window. My brain couldn’t compute what I was looking at.
When I realised that it was the almost vertical sides of the fjord my mouth dropped open. It was breathtaking.
We were already parked annoyingly so I’d missed the sail in but never mind!
I was so excited to get off and get exploring.
Months ago I booked the Flam railway for us which is considered one of the most scenic journeys in the world.
After a browse in the appallingly named Mall of Norway which is actually a lovely gift shop full of mostly lovely merchandise. Lots of woollen items, trolls, fridge magnets and Viking gear - we headed to the platform and queued for our train. We were booked on the 9.45am train and my mum had advised us to get there early so we could get a seat on the right hand side.
We were successful!
It was an absolutely stunning journey. Out of the village and up the mountain to Myrdal up at the top.  Gorges, waterfalls, cascading rivers, tunnels, mountain farms, more feral goats (they’re everywhere!!)
And a little surprise halfway up when the train stops at a little platform by a beautiful waterfall which my mum and dad had alluded to but hadn’t given any details wanting it to be a surprise.
And quite a surprise it was!
Impossible to describe but involved loud music and mountain nymphs. Just brilliant!!!
The train stops there on the anyway back down so you get two performances!
Once we got back down to Flam we walked along the fjord a little and I had a lovely paddle. It was nowhere near as cold as I was expecting and I would have loved to go on for a swim like some people were. But I didn’t have my swimming stuff and there wasn’t time to get it and get back.
And the heavens opened while I stood there with my bare feet in the fjord. We got drenched running back to the ship.
And then of course it stopped!
Mr K went back to the Mall of Norway with the Little Misses for a few essentials. A fridge magnet for me and and eye- wateringly expensive backpack for Miss L among other things!
Sail away tonight was amazing. Sailing back up the fjord watching the mountains drift pass, the little fishing huts, the waterfalls, farms, forests. It was stunning.
We sat on the lovely big deck chairs and just soaked it all up. Along with tea and many, many cookies.
And we made friends with a lovely couple who were sat out on the deck too. We chatted to them for a couple of hours before having to go in and change for dinner.
What a fabulous day! See extras for a few more.

See the last few days for more Norwegian gorgeousness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.