KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

An Exquisite Day....for April

Simply stunning day, weather-wise. I spent much of the afternoon puttering around in the garden, doing some planting and moving around of plants. The high temperature was around 76 F (24 C) with a beautiful breeze. I spent many breaks sitting on my potting shed porch surveying the back garden. The bees were numerous today and I saw one moth flutter by (at least I think it was a moth). I keep mason bees, which are a native Oregon bee and they are now actively emerging from their cocoons, much to the cat's delight. She's fixated on them, but of course doesn't catch them.

The regular tulips have all been shattered by these warm temps (perfect for humans, hot for tulips!) but these lovely little species tulips are now open. These, I believe, are Tulipa clusiana var. chrysantha sometimes called 'Lady Tulips'. Sweet little tulips that open up fully during the day and close up tightly at night. 

The extra is a bee that I caught on a grape hyacinth.

Be well dear Blippers! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.