Bold young things

The soundtrack to my morning cuppa was really lovely. A lone bird was chirruping away and it wasn't a familiar song, but then I spied him/her – a dunnock. I don't usually get that close to the dunnock visitors in my garden but this one was feeding from the ground with caution (rightfully, because I was holding down Juno on my lap). He/she was joined by its mate and the the two made a fine meal from the sunflower hearts the goldfinches had dropped. Juno's face suddenly looked up and his whole body tensed – a young robin had joined the scene. It hadn't quite got the hang of landing quietly and made a thump when he perched on the fence. I had a stern word with the cat about these birds. I don't know if he listened, but at least his humans are around in the garden a lot more these days to monitor him.

It was lovely a warm here and the love-in-the-mist seedlings have finally popped their heads out of the soil. I need to plant more but I have to figure out where to find compost as my local garden centres have shut up shop. There is hope that the local florist is going to do deliveries... I have asked the question about compost.

For a snack in the afternoon, I made some quick-and-easy oaties that the local café had posted on Instagram. The owner of the café is being brilliant at posting simple recipes to inspire us. I see on the Instagram that she's suffered a flood at the café (that's not what she needs). I hope it's easily fixed. 

Fred and I had an evening walk to Streatham Common and Norwood Grove. The saxophonist was out practising in the woods and it sounded wonderful. I like that he comes to the woods to play and we can all be serenaded. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.