Easter fungi hunt

Rather than an Easter egg hunt I had an early bike ride fungi hunt. Years ago when I had a running coach he used to include "smell the roses" runs. This is the equivalent bike ride.

Have no real plan other to stop, look, and appreciate. I can't bike off far from home and headed for a row of pine trees to see what's growing beneath. Something other worldly in the form of big and small by the looks of it.

I discovered too other parts of the area I live in where I can return to another time.

Back home to coffee and contemplation, followed by a serious stint of garden trimming and weeding.

I can remember growing up Mum and Dad talking about the dreaded oxalis weed. It spreads so easily I'm not sure it's worth the effort I put into eradication today.

Maybe we can learn to coexist where I view it as a handy ground cover in places. Surely if I pluck the leaves off when it pops up places it's not welcome it will die? No leaves, no photosynthesis.

My back is grumpy.

Today's gratitude: For the significance of today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.