Sunny Day

After a fairly dull start, it brightened up again, although it was noticeably colder with an edge to the wind. I coughed a bit for an hour when I got up, but then it stopped - and I actually felt hungry! 

I made some scones, taking ideas from a Bill Granger recipe, in his book, Bills Basics. I used soda water instead of sparkling water, lemon juice, icing sugar, self raising flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, but replaced the cream with buttermilk, and then, as I didn't have enough flour, used some spelt flour and about 50mg of ground almonds. All in all they worked well (see extra). I then made a potato salad from the same book, replacing the mayonnaise (which I don't have) with cream cheese. 

My son and I then got cracking on my eldest's room. I pulled all the staples out of the floor, and he put down underlay. Then we pulled in the carpet, and laid that. He's now finishing rebuilding the bed as I type. It looks good. My eldest will come back once the lockdown is finished. 

The main picture is blossom from my garden. The tree took a battering from its trim last year, but is beginning to recover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.