Woodland walk

It was a sunny breezy start to the day I decided against an early morning walk instead choosing to save the walk for later.  So a relaxed morning and the excitement of seeing that some of the seeds are germinating in their trays.  This was followed by a  trip to the allotment to pick some rhubarb.  I had also read up on planting sweet peas and realise I had planted mine a bit prematurely, they advise after any danger of frost so I quickly devised a make shift cover for them as it is forecast to be cold tonight.  

After lunch my husband and I went for an inland woodland walk.  It was still very sunny with the chilly north east wind but good walking weather. As we started to walk away from the houses past nearby fields we spotted a Heron just standing in the sun in the middle of the field.  Further along as we walked up into the woodland areas on the edge of the common we saw several Orange Tipped and Peacock butterflies, bluebells were beginning to show and there were some beautiful views of stands of trees like todays blip or distant views of the sea.  We  met some friends walking their dog and I reflected as we continued our walk how nice it is to meet up with other people, something we take for granted in normal circumstances.   An enjoyable walk and good to change the route.

The rhubarb and ginger crumble was good and as I left some rhubarb for my neighbour they gave me a recipe for a rhubarb and orange cake which sounds rather nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.