An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Royal Wedding...

Archive Blipped 13.04.20  

Reading old diaries and blipping notable dates.   See this blip and this blip for context.

Wednesday 29th July 1981 - Glasgow Royal Infirmary Ward 27 -Side room (ie not the main ward.)  There are six of us in the side room.  

It's 12 weeks and 4 days since the motorbike crash.  I am 14 1/2 years old.

Decided today that I want to write in my diary again and record hospital life from now on.

My consultant Mr W told me this morning that I am going to theatre again soon and will be under a full anaesthetic.  Phew.  They are grinding more bone off my shin. My shin is painful at the moment.  He also said I need to have a bone graft. I'm a bit worried about that.

At the moment I am bending both knees with the physio but my right leg is a real mess.  I think I have a long way to go.

Thank goodness for the Royal Wedding.  It took my mind off everything.  

Big Susan, Angie, Little Susan, my hospital mum (a nurse called Agnes who really did become my hospital mum) Nan, the ward clerkess and Margaret and Jean, the orderlies, have worked so hard decorating the ward with streamers and balloons in time for the Royal Wedding.  They've even managed to get us little flags to wave.

Gran, Grandpa and Agnes visited and excitement in the ward was at fever pitch as the time of the wedding got closer.  The entire ward had been chatting and laughing but as soon as the wedding started, we all shut up and waved our flags.  

Really disappointed in Di's dress.  It was all crushed and her hair was flat.  Everyone was cheering when they said their vows.  

Agnes brought her camera in and took photos round the ward.  Everyone was having a laugh.  Big Susan had a flag behind each ear, and my grandpa took the cellophane flower off the flowers they brought me and put it on his head.  

We had a posh hospital dinner tonight - turkey and all the trimmings - in celebration of the wedding I think.  Back to grey roast beef and mashed potatoes like wall paper paste tomorrow.

After all our visitors left, the atmosphere in the ward was quiet.  Three of us went to sleep but me and two others watched Saturday Night Fever.  


NB Incase you haven't guessed, that's my gran and grandpa in the photo and in the bottom of the frame is my right leg in plaster of Paris and in traction.


  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.