KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Another Day in Paradise

Well, the weather is certainly nice. As long as I distract myself I can pretend I'm in paradise! The garden is certainly growing well in this gorgeous weather, and generally people seem happy to be outdoors as much as possible.This gorgeous pink ranunculus, featured in my journal on March 30th is still shining strong, bringing its gorgeous pink-ness to light up my garden.

Our local newspaper "The Oregonian" published a beautiful piece in yesterday's paper about our state Poet Laureate, Kim Stafford. They've published seven poems that Stafford wrote on seven days since March 7th. I was really moved. The link is here if you'd like to read it. There are some lovely photos as well.

My favorite is this:
Shelter in Place
by Kim Stafford

Long before the pandemic, the trees
knew how to guard one place with 
roots and shade. Moss found
how to hug a stone for life.
Every stream works out how
to move in place, staying home
even as it flows generously
outward, sending bounty far.
Now it is our time to practice - 
singing from balconies, sending 
words of comfort by any courier, 
kindling our lonesome generosity
to shine in all directions like stars.

Be well dear blip friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.