Empty Edinburgh

I got the shock of my life this morning when I woke up to sun. After mornings of greyness it was wonderful to see the Meadows resplendent in sunshine even though it was still freezing, ‘feeling like-1°’.

I had an 8am appointment with M&S and had the town all to myself -hardly any traffic at this hour and only the odd pedestrian. I was home before the neighbourhood had woken up.

The highlight of my day was definitely a phone call after lunch with MsGable thanking her for a lovely card which I’ve used in an extra. We sympathised with each other that Shetland Wool Week has now been cancelled so that there will be no threesome meet up with Poppy in September. It was great to catch up with each other’s news.

I had an afternoon walk to drop off a book to a friend but the sunshine had gone and the wind was chilly. The cherry blossom in gardens I passed was out - precursors of the Meadows blossom which will appear in the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.