Lockdown Day 21 - This Will Be Useful!

I’ve been having problems with the battery in my small Campervan for awhile. It was due to be checked out during a service and annual MOT a few days ago, and then we went into lockdown so that has been postponed. The van was parked next door for awhile and I needed to move it back home but the battery had died yet again! I’ve been meaning to get one of these jump-starter power packs for awhile so I finally ordered one on Saturday and it came yesterday already.

So this morning I got it going and used the van for my shopping trip, daring to drive it around for 20 minutes or so before the first stop. I’m sure some will be tempted to pounce on me for that not being an ‘essential journey’! I stopped to pick up some eggs at the egg farm, and planned to go to Waitrose afterwards, but wouldn’t you know, the battery died again. I tried a couple of times with the charger and it wouldn’t start, or it started and then died as soon as I unclipped the cable. I really thought I’d have to call out my breakdown service but the third time it finally started. I gave it another 20 minute drive before safely parking it back in my driveway. There’s obviously something wrong there, but I don’t really need to use it now before the lockdown is lifted so I’m happy to wait.

A few neighbours knew I was buying this piece of kit and one of them commented that it might come in useful for others as there may be numerous cars that won’t start after so many weeks of not being driven during the lockdown. Sure enough, within an hour of getting home I had a request from a neighbour asking to borrow it. I think it will come in very useful indeed these next few weeks! It also has a flashlight and 2 USB ports for charging phones etc. Multi-functional!

After our warm few days it was really chilly today, and very windy. Sunny but cold. Brrrr! It was a good thing I took this picture to show a friend because I was hardly outside except for fiddling with the van. So this provides a good emergency blip for today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.