The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Wisteria

I nipped put to get this shot at the point in between putting out the many boxes of paper abd cardboard for recying, and cooking supper (red Thai curry with bamboo shoots)

The afternoon was glorious and I spent some time in the garden starting a jigsaw puzzle, answering emails and planning meals. My mother enlisted my help getting started with Zoom, and we actually managed a video call, on the third attempt. Aged 83, she is frustrated by technology but equally determined to learn how to get to grips with it.

The morning had vanished while I compiled a list of mainly UK free-to--stream cultural content. I then sent it out to the people who'd asked for it, and a few more. Learned that one of my colleagues has had a bad cough for a few days. Definitely sounds like the virus.

Went to the shop/former pub to get live yeast for a friend. Steve came too, and we had a very short walk through the lower cemetery. Learned from school that (so far) I won't be needed at school next week, and that I am being furloughed from my support worker (youth club) job. I was not expecting that, as we are on zero hours contracts. All to the good.

Friend came to collect yeast and my home made lemon drizzle cake, and I managed to sell her some birthday cards from a great social distance. She left us some geranium plants.

CleanSteve remarked that our life at the moment reminds him of of life in a small Portuguese town, with one steeply sloping main street, one shop, and a community of people who all know one another and may e en have time to chat. With the sun beating down today, all that the scene lacked was a hobbled donkey grazing by the side of the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.