One Today

Today is the first birthday of our lovely wee grandson. I can't believe that a whole year has passed since he was born. What a lot of joy he has brought us. Happy birthday L!

Of course we won't be seeing him in person and, even if we were,  I wouldn't be blipping him. None of the three grandchildren has an online presence so they only feature in the words of my blips. But we are hoping to join him for an early morning video call when he will open the gift we've sent. And at the weekend there will be a virtual family party for him.

My blip, though,  is a baby boy's first birthday. It's a photo of a photo of L's dad's first birthday. I realise that it is dreadful quality but the  original is old. I also realise it's not strictly within the Blip rules but I hope I'll be forgiven today. L's dad is my elder son and eldest child. L looks very like his dad.  Here we are many years ago celebrating his first birthday. A modest cake and, in the extra, what looks like a tube of Smarties. That would have been a huge treat as I was extremely careful with his diet. Standards slipped with the younger children!

This photograph was taken in the back garden of our house in Westcliff on Sea. For yes, though you would never know it from his accent now, my eldest is an Essex Man. We invited the neighbouring children, all older by a good few years, to help us celebrate. Also there were my sister and a friend, both student nurses in central London at the time. And our very good pals H&C who now live in Edinburgh but at the time were based in SE London. At the time of this party we were preparing to leave Westcliff and move/return to Scotland but we had to have a celebration!

So a birthday blip for baby L skipping back a generation.

That excitement aside I'm planning to walk early this morning. I have coffee with my friend and former colleague J later this morning then let's see what the day brings. Thank goodness for the good weather. It makes being in the garden both possible and pleasant.

Thank you so much for all the favourites which saw yesterday's bird bath on page 2 of the populars. 

The news continues to be disturbing. The gap between health and social care, always there, is being, yet again, laid bare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.