Work for Idle Hands

With the lockdown set to continue and possibly long into the future for me and other oldies, I am becoming less active than I would want. A little less arctic temperatures in the early morning and a little more consistent sunshine in the afternoon would help me get motivated. My walks round the environs are getting a bit boring but I am hopeful of ramping up my early morning cycle runs to emulate the ones of yesteryear to the far boundaries of the south side.

To that end, there was a 9 mile expedition part of the way this morning on my Brompton. It takes quite an effort to cover the same distance on the small 16 inch wheels as on 27” ones, but I persevere.
If it were not for the exercising to eat mantra running through my head, I might be happy to sit on my bottom and be crafty.

I found the roads much busier at 6:30 than on the last 3 weeks. It appears that the essential workers have been joined by the previous ‘working from home’ people who have decided that peace in the workplace is preferable to being in lockdown with the wife and fractious children.

It is interesting to note that the highlight of my social calendar these days is not my TGIF drinks on a Friday, but the 8pm clapping for the NHS outside my house in the distant company of some neighbours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.