Capital adventures

By marchmont

Outside!

3 empty airports told the tale of the world during a pandemic. KLIA was absolutely deserted. The first flight had about 16 passengers including I in Business Class (me!). It was like flying in a private jet with very attentive staff. Watched a bit of a French film with the wonderful Catherine Deneuve but gave up on it for a sleep. Then watched most of 'Top Hat'. Just watching Fred and Ginger's feet is awe inspiring.

Airport 2, Doha, was slightly busier but the Lounge was fairly empty. A different view of the iconic bear is an extra. I didn't keep my mask on on the planes.

Flight 2 was busier, I suspect mainly folk coming back from Australia and NZ. I had a great time, sewing and drinking pink champagne (not too much!). No films but I listened to my favourite albums, sang along silently and at one point got up and danced in my seating area. You can't do that in economy. There was plenty of empty seats so social distancing was maintained.

Edinburgh Airport also appears empty but it was difficult to tell as I wasn't in much of it. Had an 'interestng' chat with a young man from Customs who wanted to know what I'd done on holiday. I suppose he has a target to meet.

Very helpful taxi drivers and then home. Tomorrow I'll unpack and sort stuff out. The first priority was to get outside and have a quick walk round the garden. Outside. I'm quite happy to spend another 3 weeks in the UK's version of a 'lockdown'. Outside, I can go outside!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.