KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Waiting for the Rain....Tomorrow

You really wouldn't think I'd be complaining about this gorgeous stretch of weather we've been having here in Western Oregon....but it's supposed to be raining. It almost always rains, or at least showers on and off right up until July 5th and then it's gorgeous until late fall. Seriously, ask anyone who lives here. Tomorrow we're going to have some showers with a total rainfall of .10" expected (not much) and some rain next Wednesday and possibly heading into a rainy spell after that. Meanwhile, it's a glorious 78 F (25 C) sunny degrees and I'm about to go outside and sit on my deck and give myself a pedicure. Normally I'd have a professional do it since I'm terrible at it, but one must be flexible during these times! 

I was looking at the weather just now and came across an interesting interactive map of the virus in the US. Typically I don't like to dwell on these  things....mostly because it makes me anxious for all the reasons that you'd think. But this is pretty fascinating, if you're interested look here's a link to copy (for some reason inserting a link does not work). 

https://www.wunderground.com/weather/us/or/rock-creek

Which is the forecast for where I live. Click on the Cornavirus box "View on WunderMap" and it will take you to the map. 



Meanwhile, the garden continues to blossom....these helianthemum nummularium - Sun Rose - were blooming on April 21st last year, so really they're not that early this year. This, I believe, is 'Henfield Brilliant'. I love these plants and they will love you as long as they're in the right place in the garden. It requires full sun, and well-drained soil. It doesn't seem to mind the irrigation in the garden as long as it doesn't stand in water. It tolerates drought, but I learned the hard way that it really does want some water. The other plant I had in my perennial border was in a bone dry zone between irrigation heads and it succumbed. Interesting to note: the genus name comes from the Greek work helios meaning sun and anthemon meaning flower. The specific epithet (the 2nd part of the name) means resembling a coin. Not quite sure why, but typically these botanical plant names are descriptive. 

Thank you so much for all of your lovely comments, stars and hearts for my flamenco-skirt-like begonia post from yesterday! 

Wish me luck on my toenails....and be well dear Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.