Boys on a lonely beach

It was cold earlier in the day when Mr C was putting in his tatties. I spent the morning gossiping with friends on WhatsApp which was very nice but meant I didn’t get much done apart from write about our life in Hong Kong 1968-70. I’m on p76 already.

I’ve been asked about the boys and how things are going with them. I think it can be hard work as James is not the easiest child, but on the other hand they love being out of doors as does #2 daughter. They can cycle 10 miles so go to a beach at the other side of the lighthouse which isn’t accessible by road now for cars. Then they leave the bikes and climb down a cliff to a beach. Here James is interested in seeing Thomas’s “treasure”. Of course I didn’t take the photo, so it’s a bit of a cheat. But the idea of blip for me is to keep a family record.

Ella and Nathaniel are enjoying their allotment although their mum is worried by the proximity of the dene. Ella’s teacher phoned to check how she was doing. They spoke for 15 minutes. I hope Ella told her some of the learning she’s done, not just about the Tracey Beaker pretend care home she and Nathaniel attend. She told her mum some boys at her school have “behavioural issues”!

Other news is that the govt seems to have relaxed the stay at home rule and the police have been told it is ok for people to come to the country to walk as long as the walk takes longer than the drive. So our village is crowded again. This is not good news. Also the deaths are still over 800 a day - the curve has flattened - but I imagined that would be around 50 deaths a day. How naive of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.