Beauty Unseen

This beauty is not usually visible to the naked eye - it is far too small.  

I have spent far too much time today with dandelion seed heads, water and a macro lens.  In doing so I have almost fathomed how to use my relatively new flash gun plus the intricacies of focus stacking within the Olympus EM1 mk iii when precision is important. I have also learned that dandelion seed heads are very varied and one is not necessarily like another.  I have got much better at getting water drops in the right place and in knowing when a seedhead is saturated and I need a new one.  
Dandelions are amazing in how they deal with water.  We had a lot of rain overnight and the seedheads nearby were showing wear and tear BUT, once out of the wet they recovered very quickly.

There is still much to be done to perfect this particular art and time will tell as to whether it becomes an obsession or I flit onto another interest in my grasshopper style. It has been fun and I have been amazed at the detail that can be seen with a bit (well, quite a lot) of persistence and determination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.