One for Mother Earth

It's the fiftieth Earth Day today. Not large on the media at the moment for some reason, I can remember it being unveiled at primary school back in 1970. We all had badges. Possibly, that's all that ever came of it for most of us.

My photo mojo has been a little underwhelming today, and while I've tried for a few shots here and there nothing has been particularly good. I was therefore pleased to see my personal Earth mother in the front gardens dampening down the veg beds.

Behind Janet you can see our eating apple tree in full blossom. We ought to have some decent pies later. And below it the rampant forget-me-nots. Under wraps are lettuce, bok choi and leeks... possibly other stuff; I'm not the gardener! The other bed has strawberries, rhubarb, onions and chives.

The peas and beans (long and broad) are in the back to the left, and also out of view to the left is the fruit bed and plum tree. The earth we have here might not feed us independently, but at least there's less grass to mow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.