simisue

By simisue

ZANTEDESCHIA aethiopica: Say That 10 Times

I have often said: "The only lilies I like are CALLA  LILIES,"
however, these beautiful flowers are in the Arum family 
(not lilies at all), and are more closely related to Caladium & Philodendron.

They are native to South Africa, but are popular with gardeners, & seem to grow well here in California, when tucked into a sunny spot with well drained soil, like in my Blip.  They are toxic to dogs & cats, which is a deal breaker fo me.  I prefer to enjoy them in this garden near our house.

They come in a variety of colors &  are often used in Easter displays to represent resurrection & rebirth.  

My favorite of this flower that is rich in symbolism, is the white, which carries the meaning of innocence.  Maybe this is why the Mexican painter, Diego Rivera often featured them in his paintings & frescos, like:
: THE FLOWER VENDOR (GIRL WITH LILIES).  (SEE EXTRA)  
It is an ode to the beauty of the native Mexican people & to their suffering.  This is my favorite painting of his, & is found in my favorite art museum in southern California:  The Norton Simon Museum in Pasedena.

I am not sure when we can visit that museum again, since today is "the deadliest day so far in the state's effort's to combat" COVID-1,." even though we have been successful in our California  STAY AT HOME & social distancing efforts.

After a month of unusually rainy, cool weather, we are looking at a
Heat Advisory this weekend.  I am not tempted, but our county's  beaches are now open.  How does that work?

Figuring out the difference between Calla Lilies & Asiatic/Oriental Lilies is
much easier than understanding local & federal corona virus guidelines.


  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.