FLOWER FRIDAY

Today is a new day - and I feel much better, so we were out for our early morning walk before 7.00 a.m and it was great to be out.  It’s Flower Friday and I was going to just do one flower for my Blip today, but saw these other beautiful ones, so it’s a collage again.

At the top left is a pretty wild flower known as red campion seen in a hedge just as we set out and then going clockwise round is a laburnum, both of which were part of the same garden on our walk.  

We crossed over the dual carriageway, which was very busy, obviously with people on their way to and from work, and as this road leads to the hospital, we weren’t surprised - but many of them were going at speeds much more than 50 mph but I guess it’s tempting when the road is long and straight to break the speed limit.  

Having crossed the road, our first sight was the beautiful wisteria, hanging over the wall of a little cottage, and what a sight it was and of course, it’s my favourite colour.  Then, just a little further along, was a long hedge of berberis, another wonderful sight in the sunshine.  No need to tell you anything about the couple in the middle of the collage - I think Mr. HCB has resigned himself to the fact that “walkies” also means “selfies” so he doesn’t even grumble now!

It was wonderful to see all these beautiful flowers;  the sun was shining and there was virtually no wind, so I was very surprised when my eyes started watering, but this has been happening for quite a while now.  Fortunately, I had taken lots of tissues, but nevertheless had to stop every few minutes to wipe my eyes.  

It was only when we were on our way back that I remarked to Mr. HCB that it could be hay fever and perhaps I was allergic to pollen and of course, there is a lot about, not only from the flowers, but from the trees too.  On looking online when we got back, I think that must be the reason because now I am indoors, my eyes are fine.  I always take an antihistamine tablet every morning but maybe I need to get some goggles too - now that would make a good selfie!  Mr. Google also says that alcohol may increase allergy symptoms and “should be avoided when your hay fever is at its worst” - but I might just have to ignore that or perhaps it won’t apply to me because I don’t tend to drink early in the morning!

"Those who contemplate 
     the beauty of the earth 
          find reserves of strength 
               that will endure as long as life lasts."
Rachel Carson

P.S.  Thank you all so much for your lovely comments and kindness yesterday - I was feeling very tearful during the evening so apologise that I didn’t comment on any of your journals, but today, “normal service has been resumed” and I feel much better - well as far as Blip is concerned anyway - not sure when any other normal service will be back or even if it will be anytime soon.  I am truly grateful to have such wonderful Blip friends - your kind comments helped me greatly yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.