WHAT A FUN MORNING - IT'S SILLY SATURDAY AGAIN!

When Mr. HCB said he was going out into the garden, we all got very excited because we wondered if he would let us play the game “Hunt the Chocolates” - you remember, the ones left over from Mr. HCB’s birthday party the other day.

Well, we were in luck!  He decided that to get us fit, he would tie them to the wooden obelisk and then we had to see if we could climb up to get the chocolates, which you may remember, Mr. & Mrs. HCB’s lovely neighbour, Lynn, had put into little cellophane bags for the Treasure Hunt on Mr. HCB’s birthday.

I was confident that I would be able to get to the top, but either I am getting old or too fat, because I couldn’t even squeeze into the holes at the top of the obelisk!  Perhaps, like Mrs. HCB, I have been eating too many chocolates!

In the end, it was Tiny who got to the top first, followed by Snowy and Penny Penguin.  They were all pleased that they had beaten me, but I said to them, in my serious voice, “It’s not the winning but the taking part that is important!”  

I told them that when I was younger, I could climb as well as anyone, but once you get a bit older, your joints seize up and you’re not as nimble on your feet, so it’s much harder.  They all laughed, but I said that it would come to them soon enough and then they wouldn’t be laughing!

Hoggy was pleased that he was able to clamber up and sit with me and we all managed to find a bag of chocolates, so we were happy.  Mind you, we know for a fact that Mrs. HChocoholicB won’t be that happy, because there were only five bags and she didn’t manage to get there in time to find one.  However, because we are very kind, we have said that will share our spoils with her and Mr. HCB - there were two chocolates in each bag, so Mrs. HChocoholicB has suggested that we have one each, Mr. HCB has two and she has three - you see, I told you, she is chocolate mad!

We hope that Admirer, in whose honour this game was played, would be proud of us being kind and I know that she would have laughed if she had seen us trying to clamber up the obelisk.  

The chocolates did start to melt a bit, so Mr. HCB said he would put them in the fridge for a while - but shhhhh we aren’t telling Mrs. HChocoholicB where they are, because you know what would happen - she would snaffle the lot!  

Take care and enjoy the rest of your weekend - you might even find some chocolate!

With love from 

JH Ted, Tiny, Snowy, Penny Penguin and Hoggy xxxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.