Missycat

By Missycat

Day 32 Floral extravaganza

Today's AT theme set by our host,Ingeborg, is 'Flora'.  I've overlaid pictures of the pansies and ceanothus  and put the result through PS Elements Wave filter to give a more abstract feel.  If you look carefully though, I think a pansy or two and a couple of ceanothus flowers are just about detectable.
I'm still only writing up my journal the morning after and therefore in danger of forgetting what I did:  thank goodness for the daily Blipfoto challenges available to help me pinpoint where I am in the week!
Today was extremely warm and so I did quite a bit of sitting in the garden, although I did stir myself to start renovating the fairy garden, made last year with Violet in mind.  I've slightly adjusted its location and in doing so upset a family of newts hidden in the surrounding undergrowth.  I'm giving them overnight to reorganise themselves before carrying on working in the area.
Yesterday I managed to set up my exercise bike in front of a bedroom TV so that I can cycle my way through 'Doctors' (a UK daytime soap) each day and for two days now I've managed 6k before losing concentration.

This afternoon I also managed to place an order for plants and compost with one of our fairly local garden centres.  I could initially choose online, then had a follow up phone call to discuss preferred colours etc, then back online to pay.  The order should be with me within a week so very happy with that.

The daily live update from Downing Street is getting a bit 'same old' at the moment.  They produce daily chart of key figures relating to confirmed cases, hospitalisations and sadly deaths accompanied by lengthy explanations, which boil down to the fact that they don't really give a true picture.  Testing capacity is up apparently, although I don't imagine that those careworkers who've been invited to drive a couple of hundred miles to be tested are overly impressed with efforts so far.  No news as to what the exit strategy might be when the time is right: questions on this topic are fielded with non  answers, praising us all for our wonderful efforts in maintaining  the lockdown and reminding us that it's too soon to end it.
We came out and clapped again this evening to show appreciation of all those front line workers taking care of us: rather briefer than usual as I suspect a few were watching The Big Night In on the BBC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.