Happy 80th ‘lockdown’ Birthday Mum

Luckily for me, my sister lives close to mum and dad, and was able to spend time with them both today. Luckily for all of us, the internet provided the means to make today a special one for mum, with Facebook being a big winner. Messages from my cousins in Australia and New Zealand to their Aunty Mary (mum was the 4th of 5 children, and sadly the only one now left) were loving and heartfelt. With Facebook messages from Manda and I receiving so many ‘likes’ and comments, mum was quite overwhelmed with everyone’s kindness. She received beautiful bouquets of flowers, beginning yesterday with a stunning bouquet from her nephew in Australia, and another from her niece today. The rose I had ordered and had named after her, arrived yesterday too, and it was nice to see it when we had a FaceTime chat this morning! Another benefit of the internet - online shopping and Facetime. It was as close as we would get to being with them today. Manda had this beautiful cake made for mum, and spent time this afternoon with her family in mum and dad’s garden. Aren’t we lucky that the weather has been so kind. It has meant no problem with social distancing for Manda.

We had a relaxed day today. In the morning Jon did the shopping in Lidl and I went in to the coop for a few other bits. Then we went into Cromer for dog food in the pet shop, and hay fever tablets in Boots. Most shops are closed, but there was the corner shop that is a bit like a pound shop. I bought some seeds for just 69p a packet which I got quite excited about. So much so that I think I forgot about social distancing until a man coming in to the shop asked the owner if it was ok for him to come in (I was near the door). There seemed to be more traffic about, and more people (although I’m not sure what I’m basing that on as I haven’t been out). So I planted basil, coriander, cumin(never seen that before) and some sweet peas when I got home, then sat in the garden and finished my jigsaw. So much easier in the day light. Very glad about that. Now back to a bit of knitting for a few evenings...or maybe sometime else!

P.s I will post photos of the lovely gravelled bits in our garden tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.