8pm clap for NHS

I'm sorry to say it is only the 2nd time we have remembered at 8 o'clock, rather than at 10 to then 10 past, missing it completely! So last week I set an alarm. We could hear distant clapping and pots and pans being tapped. Mollie and I clapped loudly. From our house you cant see any other houses, even out in the road. But for a spread out, quiet village, I was pleased to hear others. Tonight's clap was especially for all friends I have, who work for the NHS, and also for anyone else who still has to leave the safety of their homes, to do a days work to keep everything going for the rest of us. I'm lucky I dont have to ho anywhere, and have to admit that after 5 weeks, even I am getting itchy feet, but I'm sticking with it.

I went to the allotment at 10.00. Spent my first half hour sitting in the sun, chatting to mum and dad on the phone. Then another 2 plus hours pottering, tying things up, weeding a bit more around my raspberries, and planting another row of potatoes. Mollie came down to help make a small net cage to go over a small veg bed. I have more of those to make.

While I was out, Jon had collected a ton of pea shingle and between them, Jon and Henry finished the path, the area above the pond, the edge around the conservatory and all the way down the path at the side of the house. They worked really hard and it has made a huge difference to the garden. Next job, working out how much we need to do the whole of the front. Plus patio slabs for the back. This lockdown has some positives, and if we are not going to get our Devon holiday, then at least if our garden is looking perfect, it will be more bearable spending the summer in it!

Doing more of my puzzle tonight, plus watching an episode of The Crown. Day off tomorrow so more of the same, plus a catch up with Hoddesdon as it is a special day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.