Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Competitive gin purchasing

I've back blipped for yesterday should you be interested. 

After ArcLight blipped her gin purchase, I realised we were getting a bit low in interesting gins - we have plenty of "ordinary" gin.  I went browsing, ended up ordering from a number of different places.  

It all started with wanting to support the local firm of Bullards.  They featured in the local press saying that the owner had taken out a mortgage in order to continue paying his staff.  When I investigated their website, I discovered that they are doing "gin in a pouch" which can be posted through your letter box.  When you've refilled your bottle, you post the pouch back to them for recycling - just as it is, doesn't need an envelope!

Then ArcLight recommended trying the Dingles, so I bought that - with several other bottles (in order to qualify for free postage!).  One of the other bottles is called Lind & Lime, and is distilled in Leith, so just down the road from ArcLight.

And of course, once you've started looking for a particular product, Facebook picks up on that, and so I keep getting adverts for other gins, and many of the companies are doing free postage to encourage sales - I bought the Tarquin's because I know I enjoy it, and it came with a large bottle of tonic and a small bottle of hand sanitiser.  And the Rasaay also came with tonic.

I drink my gin neat, but I'll keep the tonic for when we have visitors who want something more exciting than supermarket "own brand" tonic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.