Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Surprise!

Several weeks ago I discovered that the chickadees had constructed a nest in one of my boxes.  I’ve been periodically checking it using a mechanics mirror to see inside, but no signs of activity.  So, I assumed they had abandoned the nest, perhaps chased off by the bluebirds.  What I had failed to consider is that the female carefully covers each egg with a layer of nesting material until she’s done laying.  So this was the joyful sight that greeted me this afternoon - 8 miniature eggs, the largest clutch I’ve ever recorded for this species.

Now I am going to need to put a Wren-guard on the entrance to deter the House Wrens from wreaking havoc. They haven’t arrived yet, but any day the first male will show up and start scouting nest sights.

Anyway, very exciting news from the Lane since it has been a few years since I’ve had chickadees nest here.  And to give you some frame of reference, these eggs are about the size of a pencil eraser.  Adult birds are 4.7-5.9 inches (12-15 cm).

Hubs and I went for a walk this morning where we encountered 4 people, two of whom I knew (birders).  Nice to exchange a few words with friends, even masked and many feet apart.  Saw my first Osprey of the year over one of the ponds where we walked.  And learned that the Bald Eagle nest further out the trail survived the recent storm (several others in our area did not, sadly, with all nestlings lost). We Extra for our masked selfie.

Things in our part of the country are still grim but with some encouraging signs in terms of flattening the curve.  Still a long way to go.  

Stay home.  Stay safe.  Be kind...

Xo
Debbi

Covid 19 Update
Positive cases in NJ as of.this afternoon - 105,523
Deaths in NJ - 5,863
Positive cases in Sussex County - 812 with 91 fatalities

Our neighbor, New York State has had 16, 599 deaths.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.