Froggie Went A Courtin'

We have been trying to keep our outdoor adventures local, and so when the sun came out, we headed for the other end of gameland 176, the Scotia Barrens. My husband jogs there often, so it is a familiar venue.

But this time, we took a trail we had not gone on before, which wound up a green hill and off into the woods. Near the top, we found a puddle that was chock full of amphibians. Mostly tadpoles, but we also saw this wonderful frog, which had marvelous long legs and adorable googly eyeballs.

My second photo for the day . . . when I went out first thing in the morning, it was foggy and damp. I took some photos of trees in the mist. But as I finished and came back up the front steps, I looked down and noticed the columbine (Aquilegia) leaves were decorated with dew drops that shone like diamonds. So in the extras, please enjoy a photo of those, as well!

The song is for the froggie friend above. And yes, Bruce Springsteen sings it: Froggie Went A Courtin'. I'll also include a version sung by Burl Ives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.