Cute Coot!

My Editor came with me on my bliphunt walk this morning (as she often does), which was lovely.

A few days ago I'd spotted that there was a new coots' nest on Killingworth Lake but at that time the coots must have been elsewhere as I didn't see them. This morning we saw Mrs Coot sitting snuggly on the nest - presumably keeping the eggs warm.

There's been a coots nest at the same spot on the lake ever since my first year of blipping in 2014 - see here. Could it be the same parents? - I don't know, I don't know how long they live. (Postscript: apparently they're monogamous and can live up to 15 years! - so it could well be the same pair.)

The extra shows hubby - at first I thought he was rushing towards the nest to be with his missus, but in fact he was preening himself, probably putting on a dab of aftershave etc, before he went near to her. Always best to keep up appearances.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.