The second half of life..

By twigs

Day 34 - Adopted!

No surprises with Kitty I guess!  So today, I talked with the SPCA and have said yes to formally adopting her.  Her confidence is coming on in leaps and bounds and I've found that she likes to stay close to me when I'm out in the garden.  That's a good sign - what I need to do now is find a way of dissuading her from going anywhere near the road so the more she's familiar with the back garden the better.  She got a mighty fright today when her curiosity took her over to the boundary of the neighbour with a dog.  Completely oblivious to the dog's presence she snooped and snuffled around in the bushes but when she disturbed the dog and he barked at her I swear she flew back into the house six inches off the ground!  I'm thinking she might not go over to their property again!  It was good to note though that she sees the house as a safe place to head to.  We're making progress.

Biggest news today - we move tentatively down into Level 3 of lockdown........more people at work, more businesses able to offer services (from a distance), takeaways able to do business (from a distance), bubbles marginally expanded.  The thing I noticed most was the noise on the road.......suddenly the morning commuting noise has returned (though not to previous lockdown levels which is good) which in turn means the morning tranquility that I've grown to really appreciate has been all but shattered.  

There were very promising numbers today - just 2 new confirmed cases and 1 suspected case.  We're nearing that first zero tally that will herald - in my mind at least - the potential to be just 2 weeks away from elimination.......that light at the end of the tunnel is growing :)

Final news today - Kev the kereru popped in for a late afternoon drink and munch (see extra).  Yay!  He's returned :D  Hope he stays a few more days as I'm rather enjoying having him about. If you're curious about just how big he is, compare him with these guys at my birdbath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.