The Shiva eye

is the operculum of a sea snail, quite commonly used in jewellery first made popular in the Victorian era. It gets it's name from the Hindu god Shiva and is said to represent the third eye in the brow of Shiva. It's also known as Mermaid's Money supposedly bring luck to fishermen. I picked these up along the shoreline in Nai Phlao, on the Gulf of Thailand coast  over a period of time when we were living there. I'm not sure they have brought me any luck, but then I'm not a mermaid. I promised some to my cousin as she makes silver jewellery. She is an anesthetist, working in the NHS in Cornwall. A stressful time for everyone at the moment. She posted that she was off work for a few days now, & as it's raining unable to get out in her garden. I messaged her suggesting she might feel like creating in her shed/workshop, so this morning posted some of my hoard for her to play around with. I don't have a junk drawer, I have 2 x 5 shelf junk cupboards. I exaggerate slightly, the fabrics are what I've accumulated over the years, the junk is what I've collected on the many walks along beaches & country lanes ... Present makeover/recycle/repurpose project virtually complete, who knows what I might make next. Ha ha!!

Just off to give the decoupaged shelf a second coat of varnish.

Thanks to MaryElizaR for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month, some great challenges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.